教育, 金融

房地产是一种有形的、实物性的资产,投资者追求它所产生的收益。

许多房地产投资者认为,多户住宅物业的收入潜力是所有商业房地产资产类别中最稳定的。 人们通常持有这种观点,因为公寓项目可以从多个出租单位中产生持续的收入流。 多家庭住宅投资需求依然强劲稳定,预计交易额将在2021年达到1480亿美元。

然而,商业房地产还提供了其他资产所没有的独特优势,可以显著提高投资者的回报:房地产折旧。

在本文中,我们将讨论商业房地产中的折旧是如何运作的。 我们将演示如何使用折旧费用来降低应纳税净收入。 此外,我们将解释如何通过三个简单的步骤计算由折旧所带来的税收节省。

有关的: 投资出租物业的终极指南

什么是房地产折旧?

人们使用“折旧”一词来描述资产随时间下降的价值。 例如,汽车在您驶出销售场地时就开始贬值。 至于制造设备和计算机,它们最终都会磨损或贬值。

折旧的好处

通常情况下,贬值指的是价值的减少。 然而,就房地产而言,折旧与被动收入一样有利,甚至更多。 这是因为美国的税法允许房地产投资者每年扣除折旧费用。 这个年度扣除额会减少对房地产产生的净收入所需缴纳的税款。

房地产投资,例如多户住宅物业,随着时间的推移升值,为投资者创造了更多的价值。 随着物业每年产生收入,建筑价值也同时逐渐折旧。 总体而言,这会降低对一处价值增长的物业所缴纳的税款。

尽管折旧通常描述了价值的减少,但在房地产中,折旧实际上与被动收入一样重要,甚至更为重要。

根据美国国税局(IRS)的《527号出版物》,商业房地产在39年内折旧,而住宅物业(包括公寓和多户建筑)在27.5年内折旧。 在这段时间过后,房地产在税务上被认为完全磨损。

上蓬塔尔巴大厦

当然,常识表明,即使美国国税局表示房产已完全折旧,房产仍然具有价值。 以新奥尔良的 Upper Pontalba 公寓楼为例。

该物业位于法国区的杰克逊广场,其历史可以追溯到 1850 年。 许多人认为它是该国最古老的公寓楼。 根据美国国税局的指导方针,该建筑物在1900年之前就已完全折旧。

Video Placeholder
play icon

然而,在1935年,上彭塔尔巴大楼的原始16座联排别墅被改建成了50个公寓住宅。 在1995年,这座历史建筑进行了数百万美元的翻新,以升级物业的机械设备。

如今,位于上彭塔尔巴的公寓租金大约是市场价的两倍,而且还有等候名单等待可用单位。

根据对上彭塔尔巴大楼最近的公开市场租金研究(2015年),豪华住宅单位的年潜在总收入约为130万美元。 在新奥尔良,一栋豪华地铁A级多户住宅物业以4.38%的资本化率交易,根据六年前的租金收入研究,该多户住宅建筑的价值至少为3000万美元。
对于一个在130年前就磨损殆尽的多户住宅物业来说,这个价格还算不错!

如何使用房地产折旧

当然,大多数多户家庭投资者不会购买路易斯安那州的历史公寓楼。 根据CBRE的《2021年美国多户住宅房地产市场展望》,中西部和东南部的郊区多户住宅资产将提供最佳机会以实现稳定市场表现,包括俄亥俄州的克利夫兰市。

但无论您在哪里投资,房地产折旧的使用方式都是相同的。 以下是多户住宅投资者如何利用房地产折旧减少应纳税收入的简要介绍。

在这个例子中,我们将按照美国国税局(IRS)的指导方针,对一个多户住宅建筑进行27.5年的折旧计算,对内部改进(例如内置电器)进行5年的折旧计算,对围绕物业建造的景观围栏进行15年的折旧计算。 请注意,不包括公寓楼所在土地的价值。 需要注意的是,土地在折旧的目的上不会磨损殆尽。

假设克利夫兰一栋多户住宅建筑的市场价值为500万美元(不包括土地),该投资每年产生税前净收入30万美元。 所有单位中电器的综合价值,例如冰箱、洗衣机和烘干机、炉灶和烤箱,总价值为10万美元,而围栏的建造费用为5万美元。

使用年度房地产折旧来减少应税净收入看起来像这样:
  • 建筑折旧:500万美元/27.5年 = 每年折旧费用181,818美元
  • 家电折旧:10万美元/5年 = 每年折旧费用2万美元
  • 围栏折旧:5万美元/15年 = 每年折旧费用3,333美元
总体来说,克利夫兰的多户住宅物业的房地产折旧减少了可纳税的净收入205,151美元。
  • 税前净收入 = 300,000美元
  • 建筑折旧 = -181,818美元
  • 家电折旧 = -20,000美元
  • 围栏折旧 = -3,333美元
  • 折旧费用后的纳税净收入 = 94,849美元

显示投资物业税折旧的好处

在上述例子中,投资者仍然拥有300,000美元的净现金收入。 然而,由于折旧的税收优惠,投资者只需对94,849美元支付税款。 通过投资物业折旧所产生的税收节省可以迅速累积。

2021年有七个联邦所得税档位,税率从10%到37%不等。 假设投资者当年的收入为 550,000 美元,则联合申报的已婚个人的税率为 35%。

多户住宅的 205,151 美元折旧费用为个人节省了 71,803 美元的联邦所得税。

不必对物业净收入的30万美元支付10.5万美元的税款。 投资者对折旧费用后的94,849美元可纳税收入支付了降低后的税款,金额为33,197美元。

有关的: 房地产基金与房地产投资信托基金

减税的投资性房地产折旧要求

要对房地产进行折旧,必须满足以下四个要求:

  1. 即使房地产上有抵押贷款,也必须由个人拥有该房产。 例如,如果投资者B从投资者A那里承租整个房产,这意味着B无法提出折旧费用,因为他不是房产的所有者。 另一方面,投资者A实际上可以对该房产进行折旧,因为他拥有该房产,即使他将整个房产出租给了投资者B。
  2. 要符合折旧的条件,房地产必须用于商业或收入产生活动,例如出租房产。 这也是为什么投资者A可以扣除折旧费用,而投资者B不能的另一个原因。
  3. 房产的预期使用寿命应该超过一年。 建筑本身以及诸如家电、围栏或新屋顶等资本改善措施的使用寿命预计要远远超过一年,并且会相应地进行折旧。
    1. 经常“修理和翻转”房产的房地产投资者不能申请折旧费用。 经常进行“买卖翻修”房地产的投资者通常无法提出折旧费用。
    2. 开发商是对一年规则的另一个例外情况。 他们通常将土地和建在上面的房屋都视为库存贸易。 即使分割地块的建设和销售需要超过一年的时间,开发商也无法对其进行折旧。
  4. 房产必须具有可确定的使用寿命。 维修和保养费用可以立即扣除,这意味着它们可以在发生的同一年中被列为费用。
使用寿命标准

根据美国国税局(IRS)的规定,住宅房地产(如多户住宅物业)的使用寿命为27.5年。 这也是为什么土地不符合折旧标准的原因,因为土地具有无限的使用寿命且不会减少。

分三步计算房地产折旧

现在让我们更详细地看一下如何计算房地产折旧。 我们将以我们在克利夫兰拥有的多户住宅物业为例进行说明。 在这个例子中,我们将通过将应在房产使用寿命内进行折旧的费用纳入房产成本基础进行调整。

我们假设以下情况:

  • 购买价格 = 550万美元,其中包括土地价值50万美元。
  • 结算费用 = 2.5万美元,包括公用事业安装费、法律和登记费、测量和产权保险费。
  • 房产交易后的改进费用 = 10万美元(用于购买家电)和5万美元(用于修建新围栏)

第 1 步:计算成本基础

购买价格是买方和卖方之间商定的最终金额。这是销售合同上的金额。
$
土地的货币价值,以及对其进行的任何改进。
$
土地的货币价值,以及对其进行的任何改进。
$
结算(或成交费用)费用支付给代理人或托管持有人。该费用可以由卖方和买方协商确定。
$
成本基础是用于税收目的的资产的原始价值或购买价格。
成本基础$ 0

确定用于折旧目的的房产基础。 计算成本基础涉及将土地价值从购买价格中减去。 然后,在房产的使用寿命内将结算费用进行资本化,并加到成本基础上。

在这个例子中,用于折旧的基础为5,025,000美元:购买价格550万美元减去土地价值。 $500,000 的土地价值等于 $5,000,000(购买价格) + $25,000(结算费用)。

第 2 步:计算房地产折旧

我们有三种折旧时间表:建筑基础折旧年限为 27.5 年,建筑物特定改进折旧年限为 15 年,设备折旧年限为 5 年。

成本基础是用于税收目的的资产的原始价值或购买价格。
$ 0
建筑物年折旧是对所购资产计提折旧的年率。
建筑物折旧$ 0
在土地上添加或直接进行的改良(例如灌木丛、栅栏、道路、人行道和桥梁)。
$
由于磨损,某些改进的价值随着时间的推移而减少。
改进折旧$ 0
购买地毯、冰箱、炉灶、洗衣机和烘干机等主要电器……均可作为免税费用。
$
由于磨损,设备的价值会随着时间的推移而减少。
电器费用$ 0

下一步是计算房地产的折旧。 在这个例子中,我们有三种折旧计划:建筑基础的使用寿命为27.5年,修建新围栏的使用寿命为15年,家电的使用寿命为5年。

  • 建筑每年的折旧费用为182,727美元:5,025,000美元的建筑成本基础除以27.5年。
  • 新围栏每年的折旧费用为3,333美元:50,000美元的围栏成本除以15年。
  • 家电的折旧费用为20,000美元:100,000美元的家电总成本除以5年。

第三步:计算税收节省

%
建筑物折旧节省 根据所选税级计算。
建筑物折旧$ 0
电器折旧节省 根据所选税级计算。
电器费用$ 0
某些改进折旧节省 根据所选税级计算。
改进折旧$ 0
联邦税收节省总额。
联邦税收节省总额$ 0

计算由总折旧费用产生的税收节省。 如果投资者在2021年处于35%的联邦税收档位(年收入介于418,851美元至628,300美元之间,并且以联合报税方式申报),由于折旧而节省的税款金额为72,121美元。

要计算通过房地产折旧节省的联邦税款金额,将每年的折旧费用相加,然后乘以35%:

  • 建筑折旧 = $182,727 x 35% = $63,954
  • 围栏折旧 = $3,333 x 35% = $1,166
  • 家电折旧 = $20,000 x 35% = $7,000
  • 由于折旧而带来的总联邦税收节省 = $72,121

根据投资者所居住的州和城市,总税收节省可能会更多。 例如,居住在高税收州,如纽约、俄勒冈、马里兰和加利福尼亚的居民,当使用折旧扣除来减少应纳税收入时,可以额外节省3.78%至4.96%的税款。

对可折旧财产基础的深入研究

租赁房地产的成本基础通常包括物业的购买价格减去土地成本。 此外,其他费用,例如结算费用,可以包括在内,如示例所示。 基础也会根据折旧目的进行调整,可以增加或减少:

增加财产基础

物业基础在物业持有期间可能会增加。 为财产增加价值并增加基础的项目包括:

  • 使用寿命超过一年的添加或改进。
  • 用于提高物业价值的当地改进评估,例如街道或人行道。
  • 将公用事业服务线延伸到物业的费用。
  • 完善产权或解决区划问题等法律费用。

减少财产基础

代表财产成本回报的项目减少了基础,包括:

  • 因授予地役权而收到的钱。
  • 作为灾难或盗窃损失结果而收到的保险赔付。
  • 因灾害损失未被保险覆盖而进行了扣除。
  • 排除用于能源节约措施的补贴收入。

有关的: 您需要了解的多户型房地产投资知识

结论

在房地产投资中,房产折旧是其中一个最大的优势之一,特别是在产生收入的房地产领域。 投资房地产利用折旧作为一项非现金支出来减少应纳税净收入。 由于折旧,投资者在支付更少的税款的同时保留更多现金作为利润以进行再投资。

折旧是一种非现金费用,用于减少投资房地产的应税净收入。

根据房地产投资所产生的税前净收入以及投资者的税率档位。 折旧所带来的税收节省可能每年达到数万美元。

在过去几年中,其他商业房地产资产类别遇到了困难而多户型租赁物业始终表现出色。

预计稳定且回报的投资机会很可能来自中西部和东南部地区的郊区多户型资产。 像哥伦布、克利夫兰和辛辛那提这样的多户型市场应该继续位居全国表现最佳的地区之一。

您对Smartland的房地产投资策略感兴趣吗立即联系我们了解房地产是否适合您的投资!


最后编辑于 9月 5, 2023
本文是否有帮助?
reaction thumbnail

View More
Resources

Categories: Education

Do Commercial Properties Depreciate?

Real estate is a tangible, physical asset sought after by investors for the income it produces.

Many real estate investors view the income potential of multifamily property as the most stable of all commercial real estate asset classes, given the recurring revenue streams generated from multiple rental units within an apartment project. Multifamily investment demand remains strong and steady, with volume projected to rise to $148 billion this year

However, commercial real estate also offers a unique benefit that other assets do not that can significantly increase an investor’s return: real estate depreciation.

In this article, we will discuss how depreciation in commercial real estate works, how to use the depreciation expense to reduce taxable net income, and how to calculate tax savings due to depreciation in three easy steps.

Related: Investing in Real Estate Properties: The Ultimate Guide

What is Real Estate Depreciation?

The term “depreciation” is used to describe the decline of an asset’s value over time. For example, cars depreciate the minute you drive one off the lot, and manufacturing equipment and computers all eventually wear out or depreciate.

Although depreciation normally describes a loss in value, depreciation in real estate is actually just as big a benefit as passive income, if not more so. That is because tax laws in the U.S. allow real estate investors to take an annual deduction for depreciation that reduces the amount of taxes paid on the net income the property generates.

A real estate investment such as multifamily property appreciates over time, creating more value for the investor. As the property generates annual income, the building value also simultaneously depreciates, reducing the taxes paid on a property that is appreciating in value.

Although depreciation normally describes a loss in value, depreciation in real estate is actually just as big a benefit as passive income, if not more so.

According to the IRS Publication 527, commercial real estate depreciates over a period of 39 years while residential property – including apartments and multifamily buildings – depreciate over 27.5 years. After that time, the property is completely worn out, at least for tax purposes.

Of course, common sense says that real estate still has value even after the IRS says the property is fully depreciated. Take the Upper Pontalba apartment building in New Orleans, for example.

Located on Jackson Square in the French Quarter, the property was built in 1850 and is often cited as the oldest apartment building in the country. In keeping with IRS guidelines, the building would have fully depreciated well before 1900.

Yet, in 1935, the original 16 townhomes in the Upper Pontalba Building were converted to 50 apartment homes. In 1995 the historic building underwent a multi-million dollar renovation to upgrade the property’s mechanicals. Today, apartments in Upper Pontalba rent for about double the market rate, and there’s a waiting list for available units.

Based on the most recent public market rent study for the Upper Pontalba Building (2015), the luxury residential units have an annual potential gross income of about $1.3 million. With luxury metro Class A multifamily property in New Orleans trading for a cap rate of 4.38%, the multifamily building has a value of at least $30 million, based on a rental income study from six years ago.
Not bad for a multifamily property that wore out over 130 years ago!

How to Use Real Estate Depreciation

Of course, most multifamily investors are not buying historic apartment buildings in Louisiana. According to CBRE’s Multifamily 2021 U.S. Real Estate Market Outlook, suburban multifamily assets in the Midwest and Southeast will provide the best opportunities for solid market performance, including Cleveland, Ohio.

But regardless of where you invest, real estate depreciation is used the same way. Here is a quick look at how multifamily investors use real estate depreciation to reduce taxable income.

In this example, we will follow the IRS guidelines for depreciating a multifamily building over 27.5 years, interior improvements such as built-in appliances over five years, and a landscaping fence built around the property over 15 years. Note that the value of the land the apartment building sits on is excluded because land does not wear out for depreciation purposes.

Assume the market value of a multifamily building in Cleveland is $5 million (excluding the land), and the investment generates a pre-tax net income of $300,000 each year. The combined value of the appliances in all of the units – items such as refrigerators, washers and dryers, and stoves and ovens – is $100,000, and the fence costs $50,000 to erect.

Using annual real estate depreciation to reduce taxable net income would look something like this:

  • Building depreciation: $5 million / 27.5 years = $181,818 annual depreciation expense
  • Appliance depreciation: $100,000 / 5 years = $20,000 annual depreciation expense
  • Fence depreciation: $50,000 / 15 years = $3,333 annual depreciation expense

The total real estate depreciation reduces the taxable net income on the multifamily property in Cleveland by $205,151:

  • Pre-tax net income = $300,000
  • Building depreciation = – $181,818
  • Appliance depreciation = – $20,000
  • Fence depreciation = – $3,333
  • Taxable net income after depreciation expense = $94,849

Benefits of Showing Investment Property Tax Depreciation

In the above example, the investor still has $300,000 of net cash income but is only paying taxes on $94,849 thanks to benefits of depreciation. The tax savings generated by investment property depreciation can quickly add up.

Depreciation is a non-cash expense used to reduce taxable net income.

There are seven federal income tax brackets for 2021, with rates ranging from 10% to 37%. Assuming an investor’s income for the year is $550,000, the tax rate is 35% for married individuals filing a joint return.

The $205,151 depreciation expense on the multifamily property saves the investor $71,803 in federal income taxes.

Instead of paying a tax of $105,000 on the property’s net income of $300,000, the investor pays a reduced tax of $33,197 on the $94,849 of taxable income after depreciation expense.

Related: Real Estate Funds vs. REITs

Investment Properties Depreciation Requirements for Tax Deduction

Real estate can only be depreciated if it meets all of the following four requirements:

  1. An investor must own the property, even if there is a mortgage on the property.For example, if Investor B sublets the entire property from Investor A, B could not claim a depreciation expense because he does not own the property. On the other hand, Investor A could depreciate the property because he owns it, even though he is renting the entire property to Investor B.
  2. Real estate must be used for a business or income-producing activity, such as rental property. That is another reason why Investor A can take the depreciation expense and Investor B can not.
  3. Property is expected to last more than one year. The building itself, along with capital improvements such as appliances, a fence, or a new roof, is expected to last much longer than one year and is depreciated accordingly.
    1. The more than one year rule for depreciation is also the reason why fix-and-flip real estate investors generally cannot claim a depreciation expense because the property is held for less than one year.
    2. Another exception to the one-year rule is developers. Lots and the homes built on the lots are considered stock in trade by the IRS and cannot be depreciated by the developer, even if the subdivision takes more than one year to build and sell out.
  4. Property must have a determinable useful life. That is why repair and maintenance costs are expensed the same year they are incurred as immediately deductible expenses.

Residential real estate, such as a multifamily property, has a useful life determined by the IRS of 27.5 years. This is also why land cannot be depreciated because the land is never used up and has a useful life that theoretically goes on forever.

Calculating Real Estate Depreciation in 3 Steps

Now let us take a more detailed look at how to calculate real estate depreciation using our multifamily property in Cleveland as an example. In this example, we are also going to adjust the property cost basis by including costs that must be depreciated over the useful life of the property.

We will assume the following:

  • Purchase price = $5.5 million including land value of $500,000
  • Settlement fees = $25,000 including utility installation, legal and recording fees, surveys, and title insurance
  • Improvements made after closing = $100,000 for appliances and $50,000 for a new fence

Step 1

Determine the property basis for depreciation purposes. To calculate the cost basis, subtract the land value from the total purchase price, then add the settlement fees that must be capitalized over the useful life of the property.

For this example, the basis used for depreciation is $5,025,000 : $5.5 million purchase price – $500,000 land value = $5 million + $25,000 settlement fees.

Step 2

The next step is to calculate the real estate depreciation. In this example, we have three depreciation schedules: 27.5 years for the building basis, 15 years for building a new fence, and five years for the appliances.

  • The building has an annual depreciation expense of $182,727: $5,025,000 building cost basis / 27.5 years
  • Annual depreciation expense for the new fence is $3,333: $50,000 fence cost / 15 years
  • Depreciation expense for the appliances is $20,000: $100,000 total cost of appliances / 5 years

Step 3

Calculate the tax savings created by the total depreciation expense. If the investor is in the 35% federal tax bracket for 2021 (earning between $418,851 to $628,300 and married filing a joint return), the taxes saved due to depreciation are $72,121.

The federal taxes saved from real estate depreciation are calculated by adding up each annual depreciation expense and multiplying by 35%:

  • Building depreciation = $182,727 x 35% = $63,954
  • Fence depreciation = $3,333 x 35% = $1,166
  • Appliance depreciation = $20,000 x 35% = $7,000
  • Total federal tax saving due to depreciation = $72,121

Total tax savings may be even more, depending on the state and city the investor lives in. For example, residents of high-tax states such as New York, Oregon, Maryland, and California could save an additional 3.78% to 4.96% in taxes when using a depreciation deduction to reduce taxable income.

A Closer Look at Basis of Depreciable Property

The cost basis of rental real estate is usually the price paid for the property, less the cost of the land, plus other costs such as settlement fees, as shown in the above example. The basis is also adjusted for depreciation purposes and can be increased or decreased:

Increases to property basis

Property basis may increase during the holding period of the property. Items that add value to the property and increase the basis include:

  • Additions or improvements that have a useful life of more than one year.
  • Assessments for local improvements that increase the property value, such as streets or sidewalks.
  • Cost of extending utility service lines to the property.
  • Legal fees such as perfecting title or settling zoning issues.

Decreases to property basis

Items that represent a return of the cost of the property decrease the basis, including:

  • Money received for granting an easement.
  • Insurance payment received as the result of a casualty or theft loss.
  • Casualty loss not covered by insurance for which a deduction was taken.
  • Exclusion from income of subsidies for energy conservation measures.

Related: What You Need to Know About Multifamily Real Estate Investing

Conclusion

Depreciation in real estate – along with recurring cash flow and potential appreciation in property value over the long term – is one of the biggest benefits of investing in income-producing real estate. Depreciation is a non-cash expense used to reduce taxable net income from investment real estate. Thanks to depreciation, investors pay less in taxes while keeping more cash as profit to reinvest.

“Depreciation is a non-cash expense used to
reduce taxable net income from investment real estate.”

Depending on the pre-tax net income generated by a real estate investment and an investor’s tax bracket, tax savings from depreciation could be tens of thousands of dollars each year.

While other commercial real estate asset classes have struggled over the last couple of years, multifamily rental property has consistently outperformed.

Suburban multifamily assets in the Midwest and Southeast are predicted to provide the best investment opportunities for reliable market performance and expected returns. Multifamily markets such as Columbus, Cleveland, and Cincinnati should continue to be among the best performing in the country.

Are you interested in Smartland’s real estate investing strategies? Contact us today and find out if real estate is the right investment for you!


Was this article helpful?
reaction thumbnail No

View More
Resources