教育, 市场趋势

近20年前,宾夕法尼亚大学沃顿商学院的塞缪尔·泽尔与罗伯特·勒瑞房地产中心的作家们发表了一篇工作论文,描述了科技对商业房地产的未来影响。. 这些作者准确地预测到科技的增长将对许多零售资产产生不利影响,并且商业房地产的价值和需求不会下降。

观察当今的商业房地产业务,很容易让人想知道这些作者是否有水晶球一样的东西。 在本文中,我们将深入探讨科技对房地产的影响如何作为积极的变革催化剂,为睿智的房地产投资者创造新的机遇。

技术对商业地产的影响是什么?

远程办公

远程办公

远程办公

多个变化正在影响租户如何利用空间以及商业房地产交易的完成方式。 当然,疫情迫使更多的人在家工作,减少在办公室的时间。

但即使在COVID-19之前,每位员工一个办公空间的概念也正在转变为更灵活的空间和时间利用方式。

如今,公司越来越倾向于选择员工所居住的地方作为落地点,而不是高密度城市的中央商务区。

中西部和阳光带州的二级市场看到商业房地产的需求不断增长,因为业主和使用者寻求更高的回报率和更具价格优势的居住和经商场所。


公司越来越倾向于选择位于员工居住地而非高密度城市中央商务区的位置。

商业房地产经纪人正在利用虚拟导览、Zoom或Skype的视频通话以及Slack等项目管理工具来展示物业并与团队成员进行沟通。

提供更多的访问和可视化。

远程办公的持续转变在很大程度上得益于无线技术,如5G(第五代无线技术)。

作为一篇文章的一部分 CCIM研究所 正如一篇文章所解释的那样,5G使蜂窝网络能够承载更多用户,并以显著更高的数据速度进行传输,从而为商业房地产从业者、房东和租户带来了虚拟现实、超高速数据传输以及建筑内外更高频谱覆盖等新应用的机会。

技术平台使得远程展示房地产物业成为可能,并完全在线处理提案和合同。 租户,特别是千禧一代和Z世代的租客,从小就习惯使用移动设备,尖端技术的可用性很可能会影响人们未来的居住和工作地点选择。

人工智能

人工智能

人工智能

约翰·麦卡锡 (John McCarthy) 被誉为人工智能之父,早在 20 世纪 50 年代中期就创造了“人工智能”一词。 他在斯坦福大学期间创立了一个人工智能实验室,研究了自动驾驶汽车的早期版本,并创建了用于机器人技术和无数基于互联网的服务的标准编程语言。

最近,一项针对机器学习研究人员的大型调查预测,在未来十年内,人工智能将在许多活动中胜过人类,例如翻译语言或担任外科医生。 虽然我们可能还没有完全达到那个阶段,但人工智能今天已经对商业房地产行业产生了积极的影响。

Video Placeholder
play icon

例如,最先进的房地产技术(房地产科技)利用人工智能来评估建筑物的功能和管理系统,如暖通空调和照明,并优化房地产管理。

多家庭投资者和租户是从人工智能中受益的两个群体,通过降低运营费用、提高租户满意度和续租率来获益。

节省时间和金钱

人工智能还为商业房地产经纪人节省了时间和金钱。 机器学习技术可用于在宏观层面跟踪市场走势和租赁活动,以帮助经纪人和投资者抓住机会并保持竞争优势。

在多户产业中, 人工智能实际上是在帮助现场工作人员租赁公寓。 国家公寓协会 (NAA) 最近的一份报告显示,人工智能正在帮助租赁代理人在潜在客户知道之前就知道哪些潜在客户将租用公寓。

基于人工智能的租赁应用程序,如Funnel,将最先进的技术引入多家庭住宅领域,通过自动化整个租赁流程,将潜在客户转化为居民。

LetHub是另一个利用机器学习的工具,它通过回答查询、直接为租赁代理安排参观时间,并收集潜在客户信息以供后续跟进和反馈,从而缩短租赁时间。 在租户入住后,该应用程序利用人工智能自动化维修请求,帮助保持高入住率和低租户流失率。

更新的基础设施

物联网(物联网)技术通过提升物业绩效和帮助楼宇业主重新构想租户体验,为房地产公司增添了价值。

德勤金融服务中心发布的《商业地产行业中的物联网》研究报告描述了物联网远不止于运动传感器照明的应用。 建筑管理系统利用物联网提高建筑性能的效率,同时收集传感器生成的数据以增强租户体验并改善商业房地产投资的财务表现。

传感器有潜力将任何物体转化为信息源,物业管理人员和投资者可以利用这些信息来区分服务和物业。 数据在信息价值循环的每个阶段经过 – 行动、创建、沟通、聚合和分析 – 并利用人工智能和增强智能技术实现自动化行动或影响房东和租户的人类决策。

各类商业地产(办公楼、零售、工业和多家庭住宅)的投资者和租户都从人工智能、物联网以及机器学习中获益。 跟上当今不断变化的房地产技术的楼宇业主和物业将继续增加价值,而过时的物业可能很快变得过时。

提升投资组合的可见性

德勤的物联网报告还指出,商业房地产投资者在建筑和投资组合层面应用增强的追踪和监测以及投资组合分析,能够降低资产风险并提升投资组合管理能力。

例如,通过跟踪人员在物业内的流动(同时尊重隐私权),所有者可以更好地了解行为和空间利用模式。 然后可以利用这些数据在全天时间段内识别出过剩容量,从而实现更高的投资组合可见性和改善的投资组合管理。

物联网基础设施为所有类型的物业提供共同的好处,包括降低运营成本(如降低能源消耗)、改善居住者和客人的健康和生产力益处,以及通过实时监控和即时应急响应系统提供更好的安全性。

特别是在多户住宅资产类别中,物联网服务创新机会包括通过使用数据洞察和预防性维护以及通过物联网设备和系统实现自动化维修请求管理来改善空间设计和租户体验。

多家庭住宅投资者和租户是通过降低营业费用,保持租户满意度和租赁续约率高,从人工智能中受益的两个群体。

公寓物业中的物联网可用于:

  • 通过跟踪偏好和习惯了解租户。
  • 提供定制的租户体验,以提供更大的便利和舒适的生活。
  • 通过提供家庭系统的远程访问和使用情况跟踪来增强租户的能力。
  • 通过实时监控和系统故障的高级通知提高安全性。
  • 通过定制自动化来帮助降低公用事业成本,从而为租户节省资金。

有关的: 投资房地产:终极指南

电子商务作为商业房地产颠覆者

电子商务作为商业房地产颠覆者

电子商务作为商业房地产颠覆者

即使在疫情爆发之前,电子商务已经开始颠覆商业房地产行业。 五年多前,亚特兰大联邦储备银行将电子商务列为商业房地产领域的主要市场颠覆者之一。

根据该报告,随着零售销售从传统实体店转移到互联网购物平台,对传统零售店面和购物中心空间的需求下降了。 尽管外卖餐厅、杂货和便利店预计将呈现积极增长,但破产和门店关闭预计将在今年继续发生。

Video Placeholder
play icon

机会主义和增值房地产投资者可能会在适应性重用和转换B级和C级购物中心中找到机会这些购物中心受到了失败的核心租户的冲击,推动了小型家庭式合作租户的关闭。

许多老旧购物中心因过时而变得不再适用,它们是从零售转型为工业、多功能办公和酒店组成部分,以及适应性重用为多户住宅项目的理想选择。

在所有情况下,成功地将零售资产适应性重用和转型为更高、更好的用途需要克服监管问题,更大的区域规划灵活性,并在整个重新开发项目中整合技术,以实现更高的运营效率和现金流量。

隐私和网络安全

隐私和网络安全

隐私和网络安全

房地产顾问协会(CRE)是一个由知名商业房地产从业者、法律和咨询公司以及政府和学术界认可的领导人组成的国际组织。 房地产顾问协会指出,任何处理大量数据的房地产业主或租户在白天或黑夜都面临各种攻击的风险。

例如,一些智能电表可能会被黑客入侵,从而获取建筑信息系统的访问权限,使攻击者可以获取大量有关建筑运营和租户的数据。 免费的无线接入可以被用作从商店的销售点系统中窃取信用卡信息的渠道。

毫无戒备的员工可能会被钓鱼欺诈骗局所诱骗,并被愚弄以泄露用户标识和密码,使窃贼能够访问包含个人身份信息的企业数据库。

幸运的是,商业房地产从业者可以采取几个步骤来确保数据在他们的公司和管理的财产中是安全的:

  1. 对现有流程进行安全审计,重点关注组织内外的漏洞,包括粉碎文件或删除电子垃圾等简单程序。
  2. 采访第三方供应商,了解他们与他们交换的关键文件的安全程序,例如发送和接收租赁信息或财务信息。
  3. 教育员工了解什么是敏感信息以及如何处理这些信息,包括保护专有数据免受外部访问,以及确保只有需要知道的同事在完成任务或项目时才能看到数据。
  4. 虽然许多商业房地产公司都有首席信息安全官 (CISO),但重要的是要认识到网络安全是每个人的工作,应该成为公司文化的一部分。

在解决隐私和网络安全问题之后,商业房地产经纪人应着力提升其在线曝光度、数字化存在和可用性。

增加曝光度

增加曝光度

增加曝光度

与住宅房地产经纪人相比,商业经纪人在增加在线曝光度方面通常处于较为落后的位置。 尽管社交媒体通常被视为与普通消费者联系的一种方式,但事实上,社交媒体和在线营销可以是与潜在客户联系和发展商业房地产业务的非常有效的方法。

增加商业房地产网站潜在客户流量的好方法包括开展互联网营销活动,包括撰写文章、博客、视频、音频和案例研究。

例如,可以每周(如果不是更频繁)发布包括宏观市场趋势、郊区和二级城市的吸引力增长、个别分区内的最新交易情况,或者为什么像多户住宅这样的资产类别是在疫情期间和之后表现最佳的投资之一等信息的文章和博客。

视频可以展示待售或待租的商业物业,或者是与经纪公司内满意客户或行业思想领袖的采访。 音频播客可以涵盖物业趋势和投资理念。

经过足够的时间和努力,您的商业房地产播客将很快变得像《美国商业房地产展示》、面向精通技术的商业房地产从业者的《PropTech Podcast》,以及为所有商业房地产经纪人提供可行建议的《BiggerPockets》播客一样受欢迎。

增加数字存在和可用性

增加数字存在和可用性

增加数字存在和可用性

商业房地产经纪人和投资者拥有无数工具可用于增加可用性并扩展数字存在。

一些最佳的商业房地产营销工具包括:

  • 社交媒体网站,例如Facebook、LinkedIn、YouTube、Instagram、Pinterest、Twitter和Reddit
  • 网络研讨会工具,例如YouTube LiveFacebook LiveInstagram LiveVimeo Livestream
  • Quora是一个问答网站,其中包含几个专门关于商业房地产的主题讨论。
  • Medium是一个用于发布原创用户生成的长篇写作内容的平台。
  • Buildout提供支持以加强营销和经纪业务运营。
  • REthink用于潜在客户和交易管道管理。
  • SharpLaunch提供定制交互式地图、文档门户和电子邮件营销服务,以提升您的物业营销效果。
  • RealHound 将潜在客户与房产联系起来
  • CoStarLoopNetCREXiCommercial SearchBrevitas这样的商业房地产列表平台。

最后的想法

技术对商业地产的影响是无所不包的。 人工智能、机器学习和物联网正在成为变革的催化剂。 业主正在更新基础设施、重新设计工作空间并彻底改革商业模式,以在当地市

租户和共同投资者都对更多技术要求提出了需求,而拥抱技术的商业房地产公司有机会重新思考业务运营方式,并以传统投资者无法做到的方式提取价值。

有兴趣了解如何 Smartland 投资? 保持联系 今天和我们一起看看为什么所有类型的投资者都在投资 Smartland!

有关的: 经济衰退证明你的房地产投资组合


最后编辑于 8月 22, 2023
本文是否有帮助?
reaction thumbnail

View More
Resources

Categories: Education

The Impact of Technology
on Commercial Real Estate

Introduction

Nearly 20 years ago, writers at the Samuel Zell & Robert Lurie Real Estate Center at the Wharton University of Pennsylvania published a working paper describing the future impact of technology on commercial real estate. The authors correctly predicted that the growth of technology would adversely impact many retail assets and that commercial real estate would not decline in value or demand.

Looking around at the commercial real estate business today, it is easy to wonder if the writers had a crystal ball. In this article, we will take an in-depth look at how the impact of technology on commercial real estate is acting as a positive catalyst for change, creating new opportunities for the savvy real estate investor.

What is The Impact of Technology on Commercial Real Estate?

Telecommuting

Telecommuting

Telecommuting

Multiple shifts are impacting how tenants occupy space and how commercial real estate deals are getting done. Of course, the pandemic has compelled more people to work from home and spend less time in the office.

But even before Covid-19, the idea of one space per employee was morphing into a more flexible use of space and time.

Today, companies are increasingly choosing to locate where their employees live instead of the central business district of highly dense urban cities.

Secondary markets in the Midwest and Sunbelt states see a growing demand for commercial real estate as owners and users seek higher returns and more affordable places to live and do business. 

Companies are increasingly choosing to locate where their employees live
instead of the central business district of highly dense urban cities.

Commercial real estate brokers are using virtual tours, video calls on Zoom or Skype, project management tools such as Slack to show property and communicate with team members.

Providing More Access and Visualization

The ongoing shift to telecommuting is made possible in large part by wireless technologies such as 5G (fifth-generation wireless).

As an article from the CCIM Institute explains, 5G allows cellular networks to accommodate more users at significantly higher data speeds, opening the door to new applications such as virtual reality, super-fast data transmission, and higher-spectrum coverage inside and outside of buildings that will benefit commercial real estate practitioners, landlords, and tenants.

Technology platforms are allowing a property to be shown remotely, with proposals and contracts handled entirely online. Tenants – especially millennials and Gen Z – grew up using mobile devices, and the availability of cutting-edge technologies will likely influence where people live and work in the future.

Artificial Intelligence

Artificial Intelligence

Artificial Intelligence

Known as the father of AI, John McCarthy coined the term “artificial intelligence” back in the mid-1950s. He founded an AI laboratory while at Stanford University, worked on early versions of a self-driving car, and created the standard programming language used in robotics and in countless internet-based services.

Recently, a large survey of machine learning researchers predicted that in the next ten years, AI will outperform humans in many activities, such as translating languages or working as a surgeon. While we may not be at the point just yet, AI is having a positive impact on the commercial real estate industry today.

For example, artificial intelligence is used in state-of-the-art property technologies (proptech) to analyze building functions, management systems such as HVAC and lighting and streamline property management. Multifamily investors and tenants are two of the groups that benefit from AI by reducing operating expenses and keeping tenant satisfaction and lease renewals high.

Saving Time and Money

AI also saves commercial real estate brokers time and money. Machine learning technology can be used to track market movements and leasing activity on a macro level to help brokers and investors seize opportunities and maintain a competitive edge.

In the multifamily industry, AI is actually helping onsite staff to lease apartments. A recent report from the National Apartment Association (NAA) reveals that artificial intelligence is helping leasing agents to know which prospects will lease an apartment before even the prospect knows.

AI-powered leasing apps such as Funnel bring the best technology into multifamily by automating the entire leasing funnel from start to finish and converting leads into residents.

LetHub is another tool that uses machine learning to decrease leasing times by answering inquiries, booking tours directly to a leasing agent’s calendar, and gathering prospect information for follow-up and feedback. After the tenant moves in, the app uses AI to automate maintenance requests to help keep occupancy levels high and tenant turnover low.

Updated Infrastructure

IoT (internet of things) technology is adding value to real estate companies by enhancing property performance and helping building owners to reimagine the tenant experience.

The Internet of Things in the CRE Industry research report from the Deloitte Center for Financial Services describes how IoT goes far beyond motion-sensor lighting. Building management systems use IoT to increase the efficiency of building performance while gathering sensor-generated data to enhance the tenant experience and improve the financial performance of commercial real estate investments.

Sensors can potentially turn any object into a source of information that property managers and investors can use to differentiate services and property. Data passes through each stage of an information value loop – acting, creating, communicating, aggregating, and analyzing – with AI and augmented intelligence technologies used to enable automated action or influencing human decisions for both the landlord and the tenant.

Investors and tenants in all types of commercial real estate – office, retail, industrial, and multifamily – are benefiting from AI, IoT, and machine learning. Building owners and properties that keep pace with today’s constantly changing property technologies will continue to add value, while outdated properties may quickly become obsolete.

Creating Greater Portfolio Visibility

The IoT report from Deloitte also notes that commercial real estate investors who apply enhanced tracking and monitoring at a building and portfolio level, along with portfolio analytics, are able to lower asset risk and enhance portfolio management capabilities.

For example, by tracking the flow of people throughout a property (while respecting privacy rights), ownership can gain a better understanding of behavior and space usage patterns. This data can then be used to identify excess capacity during all day-parts, resulting in greater portfolio visibility and improved portfolio management.

IoT infrastructure offers common benefits to all property types, including lower operating costs such as reduced energy consumption, improved health and productivity benefits for occupiers and guests, and better security through real-time surveillance and immediate emergency response systems.

Looking at the multifamily asset class in particular, IoT service innovation opportunities include improved space design and tenant experience by using data insights and preemptive maintenance and automated maintenance request management through IoT-enabled appliances and systems.

Multifamily investors and tenants are two of the groups that benefit from AI
by reducing operating expenses
and keeping tenant satisfaction and lease renewals high.

The internet of things in an apartment property can be used to:

  • Know the tenant by tracking preferences and habits.
  • Provide a customized tenant experience for greater convenience and ease of living.
  • Empower tenants by providing remote access and usage tracking of their home systems.
  • Increase security with real-time monitoring and advanced notification of system failures.
  • Save money for tenants by customizing automation to help reduce utility costs.

Related: Investing in Real Estate Properties: The Ultimate Guide

E-Commerce as a Commercial Real Estate Disruptor

E-Commerce as a Commercial Real Estate Disruptor

E-Commerce as a Commercial Real Estate Disruptor

Even before the pandemic, e-commerce was disrupting the commercial real estate industry. Over five years ago, the Federal Reserve Bank of Atlanta listed e-commerce as one of the major market disruptors in commercial real estate.

According to the report, as retail sales began to move out of brick-and-mortar shops and onto internet shopping platforms, the demand for traditional retail storefronts and mall space has fallen. Bankruptcies and store closures are predicted to continue this year, although restaurants offering take-out and grocery and convenience stores should show aggressive growth.

Opportunistic and value add real estate investors may find opportunities in the adaptive reuse and conversion of Class B and Class C shopping centers that have been hurt the most with failing anchor tenants propelling the closure of smaller mom-and-pop co-tenants. With many older malls becoming obsolete, they are prime candidates for conversion from retail to industrial, mixed-use office and hotel components, and adaptive reuse to multifamily projects.

In all cases, successful adaptive reuse and conversion of retail assets to a higher and better use requires overcoming regulatory issues, greater flexibility in zoning, and the integration of technology throughout the redevelopment project to achieve greater operating efficiencies and cash flows.

Privacy and Cybersecurity

Privacy and Cybersecurity

Privacy and Cybersecurity

The Counselors of Real Estate (CRE) is an international organization comprised of high-profile commercial real estate practitioners, legal and advisory firms, and recognized leaders of government and academia. CRE notes that any property owner or tenant who deals with large amounts of data is vulnerable to various attacks at any time of the day or night.

For example, some smart meters can be hacked to access the building information system, giving predators access to countless amounts of data on the building operations and tenants. Free wireless access can be used as a conduit for stealing credit card information from the point of sale systems in stores.

Unsuspecting employees can be hooked by phishing scams and fooled into giving away user identifications and passwords, giving thieves access to corporate databases containing personally identifiable information.

Fortunately, there are several steps commercial real estate practitioners can take to ensure that data is secure within their firms and the properties under management:

  1. Conduct a security audit on existing processes to focus on vulnerabilities inside and outside of the organization, including simple procedures such as shredding documents or deleting electronic trash.
  2. Interview third-party vendors to learn their security procedures regarding key documents exchanged with them, such as sending and receiving lease information or financial information.
  3. Educate employees on what sensitive information is and how to handle it, both in terms of protecting proprietary data from outside access and ensuring only co-workers with a need-to-know see the data when completing a task or project.
  4. While many commercial real estate firms have a Chief Information Security Officer (CISO) on staff, it’s important to recognize that cybersecurity is everyone’s job and should be part of the company culture.

Once privacy and cybersecurity issues have been addressed, commercial real estate brokers should work on increasing their online exposure, digital presence, and availability.

Increasing Exposure

Increasing Exposure

Increasing Exposure

Compared to residential real estate agents, commercial brokers generally fall behind when it comes to increasing exposure online. Although social media is often viewed as a way to reach the general consumer, the truth is that social media and online marketing can be very effective methods for connecting with prospective clients and growing a commercial real estate business.

Good ways to increase the flow of leads to your commercial real estate website include developing an internet marketing campaign with articles, blogs, videos, audios, and case studies.

For example, articles and blogs can be published weekly (if not more frequently) with information on macro market trends, the growing appeal of suburban and secondary cities, recent transactions in the individual submarket, or why an asset class like multifamily property is one of the best performing investments before, during, and after the pandemic.

Videos can feature a commercial property listed for sale or lease or an interview with a satisfied client or thought leader within the brokerage. Audio podcasts can cover property trends and investment ideas.

With enough time and effort, your commercial real estate podcast will quickly become as popular as America’s Commercial Real Estate Show, the PropTech Podcast for tech-savvy commercial real estate practitioners, and the BiggerPockets podcast offering actionable and attainable advice for all CRE brokers.

Increasing Digital Presence and Availability

Increasing Digital Presence and Availability

Increasing Digital Presence and Availability

Commercial real estate brokers and investors have countless tools available to increase availability and expand a digital presence.

Some of the best commercial real estate marketing tools include:

Final Thoughts

The impact of technology on commercial real estate is all-encompassing. Artificial intelligence, machine learning, and the Internet of Things is acting as a catalyst for change. Property owners are updating infrastructure, redesigning workspaces, and overhauling business models to become more competitive in the local marketplace.

Both tenants and co-investors are demanding more, and commercial real estate firms who embrace technology have the opportunity to re-think how the business is operated and extract value in a way that traditional investors are unable to do.

Interested in learning about how Smartland invests? Get in touch with us today to see why investors of all types are investing with Smartland!

Related: Recession-Proofing Your Real Estate Portfolio


Was this article helpful?
reaction thumbnail No

View More
Resources