教育, 投资建议

什么是BRRRR投资方式?

BRRRR 投资策略代表“购买、翻新、出租、再融资和重复”。 希望扩大投资组合的投资者最常使用这种投资策略。

重复
 
REFINANCE4
再融资
BUY1
RENOVATE2
翻新
RENT3

购买的房产将会陷入困境,需要一定数量的 TLC 才能使其出租并符合规范。要注意;鉴于其现有状况,购买该房产通常会便宜得多。

通常,BRRRR 投资者首先会识别不良或被低估的公寓楼。 然后,他们制定了一项增值业务计划,该计划侧重于以最具成本效益的方式来稳定财产。 房产需要小修还是大修的程度取决于购买时的状况。

稳定需要两件事:

  1. 出租绝大多数(即至少 90%)的单元。
  2. 您必须以市场租金或高于市场租金的价格租用这些单元。

这就是为什么所有者必须仔细考虑他们的增值改进。

BRRRR 投资策略代表着“买入、翻新、出租、再融资和重复”。

一旦稳定(即租用)。 业主随后将为该建筑再融资。 假设是,在稳定后,净营业收入 (NOI) 将会增加。 较高的 NOI 转化为较高的财产价值。 这允许所有者进行再融资并撤出一些股权,同时仍保持相同的贷款价值比。

第 1 步:购买 + 修复房产

?
Property Price
楼价
$
?
Rehab Costs
康复费用
$
?
Title Search and Title Insurance
产权搜索和产权保险
%
?
Legal Fees
法律费用
%
?
After Repair Value
修复后价值
$
?
Capital Requirement
资本要求
$
?
Down Payment
首付
$

Short Term Loan Details

?
Loan Amount
贷款额度
%
?
Short Term Loan Interest Rate
短期贷款利率
%
?
Hard Money Loan Points
硬通货贷款积分
%
?
Closing Costs
成交费用
%
?
Loan Term (Months)
贷款期限(月)

第二步:出租房产

?
Rental Income (Monthly)
租金收入(每月)
$
?
Property Insurance
财产保险
%
?
Property Tax (Monthly)
财产税(每月)
%
?
物业管理费
%
?
Vacancy Rate
空置率
%
?
Additional Costs
额外费用(如果适用)
$
?
Total Income
总收入
$
?
Total Expenses
总费用
$
?
Loan Repayment
偿还借款
$
?
Cash Flow
现金周转
$

第三步:财产再融资

?
Long Term Loan Interest Rate
长期贷款利率
%
?
Long Terms (Years)
长期(年)
?
Long Term Loan Origination Fee
长期贷款发放费
%
?
Closing Costs
成交费用
%
?
Loan Amount
贷款额度
$

结果

短期贷款
贷款额度 -
贷款每月还款 -
贷款还款总额 -
贷款费用 -
贷款总成本 -
?
Rental Monthly Cash Flow
每月租金现金流
$
长期贷款
贷款额度 -
贷款每月还款 -
贷款还款总额 -
贷款费用 -
贷款总成本 -
?
Rental Monthly Cash Flow
每月租金现金流
$

?
Total Loan Fees
贷款费用总额
$
(短期贷款 + 长期贷款)
?
Up Front Costs for Investors
投资者的前期成本
$
(贷款费用总额 + 首付)

有了这笔股权,投资者就可以开始重复 BRRRR 的过程。 这是投资者发展其多户家庭投资组合的常见方式。

BRRRR 与其他增值投资策略

您可能想知道,这与任何其他增值投资策略有何不同? 关键区别在于 BRRRR 投资者的最终目标是再融资。 他们收获该股权以投入下一个 BRRRR 方法公寓投资。

这不同于业主在没有再融资的情况下进行翻新的增值房地产投资策略。 在这种情况下,所有者只是接受他们具有更高的价值,因此杠杆率更低。 在某些情况下,这会吸引更多规避风险的投资者。

它也不同于增值投资者,他们对房产进行改进,然后在获得更高价值后出售房产。 那些出售而不是再融资的人可能要缴纳昂贵的短期资本利得税。 这些可能会影响将分配给投资者的利润金额。

确定待售的不良公寓

要成功使用 BRRRR 方法投资策略,您需要善于发现不良资产。 人们通常认为“不良”意味着房产的实际状况不佳。 虽然这种情况经常发生,但房产也可能因其他原因而陷入困境。

 

身体不适

例如,如果公寓单元干净且适合居住,但自 1980 年代末以来就没有更新过。 业主将无法以市场价格出租。 这些单位可能不再满足该市场人口统计的需求。 翻新每个单元的成本可能很高,因此,目前的业主可能没有能力进行。 一些长期拥有者的基础成本如此之低,以至于翻新这些单元似乎不值得。 他们可以低于市场价收费 租金并仍然赚取可观的现金流。 说服这些业主出售是捕捉需要翻新的公寓楼发生的租赁损失的好方法。

财务困难

BRRRR 投资者还会发现财务困难的房产。 当所有者对资产过度杠杆化时,通常会发生这种情况。 例如,以 70% 的贷款价值购买房产的人在交易中拥有 30% 的权益。 如果市场情况发生变化。 正如我们在利率上升的环境中看到的那样,资本化率上升,房地产价值开始下降。 假设一处房产曾经价值 1000 万美元,并且有 70% 的 LTV 抵押贷款。 如果该投资物业现在仅值 800 万美元,业主将损失三分之二的资产。

现在,几乎不可能获得贷款来改善财产(需要或需要)。 他们的杠杆率太高了。 任何改进,比如需要更换的屋顶,都需要业主在交易中投入更多的资金。 这就是我们所说的“投良机”。 在这种情况下,所有者出售资产通常更有意义。 这样他们就能够维持他们剩下的任何资产,而不是冒着失去所有资产的风险。 如果房产价值继续下跌,他们将失去所有资产。这些陷入财务困境的资产对于 BRRRR 投资者来说可能是绝佳的买入机会。

糟糕的运营绩效

有时,财产会因经营业绩不佳而陷入困境。 这可以通过多种方式体现。 例如,所有者可能不会密切关注市场。 结果,租金可能低于市场价格。 物业管理公司可能对维修和保养请求反应迟缓。 这可能导致比预期更多的租户流动。 高周转率和缓慢的转租会迅速拖累收入,进而降低房产的价值。

评估 BRRRR 投资时的主要考虑因素

许多公寓投资者认为他们有能力追求 BRRRR 方法。 实际上,除非您知道自己在做什么,否则这可能是一种冒险的投资策略。 当您寻求 BRRRR 属性时,有几个关键的考虑因素:

进行必要的房产改进将需要多少费用?

在准备预算时,请确保您清楚地了解实际成本(硬成本和软成本)。 人们往往会低估翻新一栋公寓楼的成本。 今天尤其如此,因为我们面临材料和劳动力短缺,这推高了公寓建设的成本。

你提出的改进是否足以证明你要求的租金合理?

您需要进行彻底的市场分析。 这是为了确保您了解需要哪些改进、便利设施等才能为您翻新的公寓收取最高费用。 请务必确定您预期的竞争范围,然后相应地承销您的交易。

你需要满足什么建筑法规要求?

许多 BRRRR 投资者忽视了不断变化的监管环境。 根据装修的规模,很多公寓装修都需要市政审批。 这会增加任何项目的时间和成本。 例如,一些市政当局需要 超过一定金额以满足新建筑和能源法规要求的装修。 公寓 投资者将希望密切控这些政策,以确保它们合规。

你执行你的商业计划需要多长时间?

请记住,大多数公寓楼在装修时都是空置的。 根据市场情况,一旦改善完成,可能仍需要几个月的时间才能完全出租该物业。 房产空置的时间越长,业主需要自掏腰包支付的持有成本就越多。

购买时该房产是空置还是有租客?

这是另一个关键考虑因素,因为翻新有租户的公寓困难. 如果租户有现有租约,新业主必须遵守这些租约。 驱逐租户可能很耗时 且成本高昂——在一些城市 比其他人更多。 确保您了解任何租户保护 法令 在州和地方各级都已到位。 房地产 投资者可能需要考虑向租户提供选址激励措施,让他们在租约到期前搬家 日期。 买一个 出租物业通常意味着要等到这些单位的营业额后再进行装修

在较大的公寓大楼,可能有机会一次翻新建筑物的“侧翼”或部分。 这可能需要将租户从一个单元转移到另一个单元,直到装修完成。 由于这些复杂性,许多 BRRRR 投资者将选择购买出售时完全空置的房产。 这些机会更难获得,并且不会产生中期现金流

通胀环境下的再融资

在过去二十年的大部分时间里,公寓投资者受益于历史低利率。 低于 3% 的抵押贷款很可能已经结束并且可能永远不会返回。 这对那些遵循 BRRRR 策略的人来说是一个潜在的问题。

再融资是BRRRR投资方法的关键组成部分之一。

通常,BRRRR 投资者会锁定低成本债务。 然后在稳定后进行再融资时使用类似的低成本融资。 然而,利率目前正在上升。 仅自 2022 年初以来,它们就翻了一番多。

这一点的实际含义是,虽然再融资可能会导致较低的 LTV 比率。 对实际现金流量的净影响可能可以忽略不计。 根据利率的高低,现金流量可能根本不会增加。 很简单,因为更高的利息支付会消耗更多的现金流。

选择取出 HELOC

而不是再融资。 BRRRR 方法投资者可能希望在完成装修后考虑使用房屋净值信贷额度 (HELOC)。 他们将在稳定财产后强制升值。 反过来,他们将在交易中拥有更多股权。

他们可以通过获得第二笔贷款(假设他们找到愿意这样做的贷方)来获得这笔股权。 这使他们的低成本原始抵押贷款保持不变,只有第二笔贷款的利率较高。 这是缓解利率上升的一种方法。

无论如何,“再融资”是 BRRRR 投资方法的关键组成部分之一。 因此,BRRRR 投资者在做出承销假设时将希望密切关注利率环境。

结论

增值公寓投资是一项小工程。 它比大多数人意识到的更需要动手和密集。 不断上升的成本(土地、建筑、材料、劳动力、债务等)使其更具挑战性。

BRRRR投资策略最常由希望扩展其房地产投资组合的公寓投资者使用。

BRRRR 投资仍有可能获得可观的回报。 关键是要与经验丰富的房地产专家团队一起制定可靠的商业计划。

对增值投资感兴趣? 联系我们了解更多关于 Smartland 的增值投资平台。


最后编辑于 8月 21, 2023
本文是否有帮助?
reaction thumbnail

View More
Resources

Education, Investment Advice

The BRRRR Method
and how to use it for
Real Estate Investing

smartland-the-brrrr-method-and-how-to-use-it-for-real-estate-investing.mp3 To be successful with the BRRRR method investment strategy, you need to be skilled at finding distressed assets. Listen to this article

What is the BRRRR Investment Method?

The BRRRR investment strategy stands for “buy, renovate, rent, refinance, and repeat”. Investors who wish to scale their portfolios tend to use this investment strategy most often.

Repeat
 
REFINANCE4
REFINANCE
BUY1
BUY
RENOVATE2
RENOVATE
RENT3
RENT
BUY

The property that is purchased will be distressed and will require a certain amount of TLC to have it rent-ready and up to code. To note; the property will often be much cheaper to purchase given its’ existing condition.

Typically, BRRRR investors start by identifying distressed or otherwise undervalued apartment buildings. They then develop a value-add business plan that focuses on the most cost-effective ways to stabilize the property. The extent to which the property needs minor renovations vs. more extensive renovations will depend on its condition at the time of purchase.

Stabilizing requires two things:

  1. Renting the vast majority (i.e., at least 90%) of the units.
  2. You must rent the units at or above market rents.

This is why the owner’s must carefully consider their value-add improvements.

The BRRRR investment strategy stands for
“buy, renovate, rent, refinance, and repeat”.

Once stabilized (i.e. rented). The owner will then refinance the building. The assumption is that, upon stabilization, the net operating income (NOI) will have increased. A higher NOI translates into a higher property value. This allows owners to refinance and pull some equity out while still maintaining the same loan-to-value ratio.

With that equity in hand, the investor can then begin repeating the process of BRRRR. This is a common way investors grow their multifamily portfolios.

BRRRR vs. Other Value-Add Investment Strategies

How is this different than any other value-add investment strategy, you may wonder? The key difference is that the end game for BRRRR investors is to refinance. They harvest that equity to roll into the next BRRRR method apartment investment.

This is different from a value-add real estate investment strategy in which the owners renovate without refinancing. In situations like these, the owners simply accept that they have a higher value and therefore, lower leverage. In some cases, this appeals to more risk-adverse investors.

It is also different from value-add investors who make property improvements, then upon attaining a higher value, sell the property. Those who sell rather than refinance may be subject to costly short-term capital gains taxes. These can impact the amount of profit that will be distributed to investors.

Identifying Distressed Apartments for Sale

To use the BRRRR method investment strategy successfully, you need to be skilled at finding distressed assets. People often assume that “distressed” means the property is in poor physical condition. While this is often the case, properties can be distressed for other reasons as well.

Physically Distressed

For example, if apartment units are clean and habitable but have not been updated since the late 1980s. Owners will not be able to rent for market rates. The units may no longer serve the needs of that market’s demographics. Renovating each unit can be costly and therefore, something current owners may not have the capacity to undertake. Some long-time owners have such a low-cost basis that renovating the units does not seem worthwhile. They can charge below-market rents and still earn significant cash flow. Convincing these owners to sell is a great way to capture the loss to lease that happens on apartment buildings in need of renovation.

Financially Distressed

BRRRR investors will also find properties that are financially distressed. This typically happens when an owner is over-leveraged on an asset. For example, someone who purchased a property at a 70% loan-to-value has 30% equity in the deal. If market conditions change. As we’re seeing in a rising interest rate environment, and cap rates rise, property values start to come down. Let’s say a property was once worth $10 million and had a 70% LTV mortgage. If that investment property is now only worth $8 million, the owners will have lost two-thirds of their equity.

Now, getting a money loan to make property improvements (desired or required) will be nearly impossible. They are too highly levered. Any improvement, like a roof that needs to be replaced, will require the owner to put more equity in the deal. It’s what we call “throwing good money after bad”. In situations like these, it often makes more sense for the owner to sell the asset. That way they are able to maintain any equity they have left, rather than risk losing it all. If property values continues to fall, they will lose all of their equity. These financially distressed assets can be great buying opportunities for BRRRR investors.

Poor Operational Performance

Sometimes, a property will become distressed as a result of poor operational performance. This can manifest in several ways. For example, an owner might not be keeping close tabs on the market. As a result, rents may have fallen below market rates. The property management company may be slow to respond to repair and maintenance requests. This could result in more tenant turnover than would otherwise be expected. High turnover and slow re-leasing can quickly drag down revenues, which in turn, lowers the property’s value.

Key Considerations When Evaluating BRRRR Investments

Many apartment investors think they have what it takes to pursue the BRRRR method. In reality, this can be a risky investment strategy unless you know what you’re doing. A few key considerations when you’re looking to pursue BRRRR properties:

How much will it cost to make the necessary property improvements?

Be sure you have a clear handle on actual costs (hard and soft costs) when preparing your budget. People tend to underestimate how much it will cost to renovate an apartment building. This is especially true today as we face material and labor shortages which have driven up the costs of apartment construction.

Will your proposed improvements be enough to justify your asking rents?

You’ll want to do a thorough market analysis. This is to ensure you understand what improvements, amenities, etc. are needed to charge top-dollar for your renovated apartments. Be sure to scope out your expected competition and then underwrite your deals accordingly.

What building code requirements will you need to meet?

Many BRRRR investors overlook the constantly changing regulatory environment. Depending on the scale of the renovations, many apartment renovations will need municipal review and approval. This can add time and cost to any project. For example, some municipalities are needing renovations that exceed a certain dollar amount to meet new building and energy code requirements. Apartment investors will want to monitor these policies closely to be sure they’re in compliance.

How long will it take you to execute your business plan?

Keep in mind that most apartment buildings sit vacant while renovations are being made. Depending on market conditions, it could still take several months to fully lease the property once improvements are complete. The longer a property sits vacant, the more carrying costs the owner has to pay out of pocket.

Will the property be vacant or tenanted upon purchase?

This is another key consideration because renovating an apartment building with tenants in place is difficult. If tenants have existing leases, the new owner must honor those leases. Evicting tenants can be time-consuming and costly—in some municipalities more so than others. Be sure you understand any tenant protection ordinances that are in place at the state and local levels. Real estate investors may want to consider offering tenants a relocation incentive to move sooner than their lease expiration date. Buying a tenanted property often means holding off on renovations until those units turn over.

At larger apartment complexes, there may be an opportunity to renovate “wings” or sections of the building one at a time. This will likely require moving tenants from one unit to another until renovations are complete. Due to these complexities, many BRRRR investors will opt to buy properties that are fully vacant upon sale. These opportunities are harder to come by and result in no interim cash flow.

Refinancing in an Inflationary Environment

For the better part of the last two decades, apartment investors have benefitted from historically low-interest rates. It is likely that sub-3% mortgages may have already ended and may not ever return. This presents a potential problem for those following the BRRRR strategy.

Refinancing is one of the key components of
the BRRRR investment method.

Typically, a BRRRR investor would lock in low-cost debt. Then utilize similarly low-cost financing when they refinance upon stabilization. However, interest rates are currently on the rise. They have more than doubled since the beginning of 2022 alone.

The practical implication of this is that, while refinancing might result in a lower LTV ratio. The net impact on actual cash flow might be negligible. Depending on how much higher the interest rate is, the cash flow might not increase at all. Simply because higher interest payments will consume more of the cash flow.

Opting to take out a HELOC

Rather than refinancing. BRRRR method investors may want to consider taking out a home equity line of credit (HELOC) after they’ve completed renovations. They will have forced appreciation after stabilizing the property. In turn, they will have more equity in the deal.

They can harvest this equity by taking out a second loan (assuming they find a lender who will do so). This keeps their lower-cost original mortgage in place, with only the second loan being subject to the higher interest rates. This is one way to mitigate against rising interest rates.

In any event, “refinancing” is one of the key components of the BRRRR investment method. As such, BRRRR investors will want to pay close attention to the interest rate environment as they make their underwriting assumptions.

Conclusion

Value-add apartment investing is small undertaking. It is much more hands-on and intensive than most people realize. Rising costs (land, buildings, materials, labor, debt, etc) make it that much more challenging.

The BRRRR investment strategy is
most often used by apartment investors
who want to scale their real estate portfolios.

It is still possible to earn a sizable return on BRRRR investments. The key is developing a solid business plan alongside a team of seasoned real estate pros.

Interested in value-add investing? Contact us to learn more about Smartland’s value-add investment platform.


Was this article helpful?
reaction thumbnail No

View More
Resources