教育, 市场趋势, 投资建议

最近几个月,股市特别波动,让一些投资者感到不安。 那些寻找更为稳定、可靠回报的人开始密切关注多家庭投资。 从两个单元的建筑到超过500个公寓综合体的多家庭房地产,在经济不确定时期历史上表现良好。

大多数个人自己买不起公寓楼。 而且那些能够购买的人可能也不这么做。 拥有多家庭房地产,虽然可能很赚钱,但也需要敏锐的监督和管理。

一种替代方案是与熟练的多家庭赞助商一起进行被动投资。 在本文中,我们介绍一些当今运营的顶级多家庭投资公司的概况。

房地产投资公司是什么?

房地产投资公司是指代表投资者收购、开发和/或管理商业地产的公司。 大多数房地产投资公司专门从事某种产品类型的投资。 今天在这里介绍的公司通常专注于拥有和经营多家庭住宅大楼。

一个房地产投资公司是指代表投资者收购、开发和/或管理商业房地产的公司。

有些房地产投资公司比其他公司更注重实际操作。 例如,一个垂直整合的公司将在公司内监管大多数职能。 这可以包括建筑和租赁,以及法律、物业和资产管理服务。 较小的房地产投资公司可能需要依赖第三方支持,这可能会限制他们对某些流程的控制。

多家庭住宅开发中的赞助商角色

在任何多家庭房地产投资交易中,赞助商应被视为“四分卫”(quarterback)。 他们主导各种活动,如尽职调查、房地产收购、核保、融资、开发和/或翻新。 完成这些任务后,他们开始进行物业租赁和稳定化。

赞助商制定物业的业务计划。 利用有限合伙人权益,他们代表投资者执行该计划。

不应忽视赞助商的重要性。 两家房地产投资公司可能会对同一物业达出截然不同的价值结论。 他们可能对如何获得最高回报有不同的意见。 他们可能具有不同的经验或能力,这使他们更或者不太能够执行他们的计划。

赞助商的历史表现通常是未来表现的良好指标。

在投资任何多户住宅交易之前,投资者都希望对那个机会背后的赞助商进行自己的尽职调查。 如果一笔交易看起来太好以至于难以置信,那就要看看赞助商的业绩记录。 赞助商的历史表现通常是未来表现的良好指标。

2022年最佳的八家多户住宅投资公司

以下我们来看一下当今表现最优秀的一些多户住宅赞助商。 它们在规模、地理位置和经验年限上各不相同。 尽管存在这些差异,这些公司都是多户住宅市场上的知名领导者。

安联资本

1. Alliant Capital

Alliant Capital是美国最大的多户住宅投资公司之一。 该公司的主要重点是通过税收信贷合作,为开发和融资负担得起的多户住宅出租房提供支持。

自公司成立大约20年来,Alliant已经筹集了超过80亿美元的股权资金。 这些股权资金使得Alliant能够完成超过1,000笔税收信贷投资交易。 Alliant的投资组合现在包括超过10万个多户住宅单位。

在2021年底,Alliant Capital被资本经纪公司Walker & Dunlop收购。 这次收购将为Alliant提供更多动力,使其在扩大平台方面更上一层楼。

capstone development

2. Capstone Development

Capstone Development是一家少数民族拥有的房地产投资公司,专注于多户住宅和酒店资产。

Norman Jenkins是Capstone Development的创始人。 他曾是万豪酒店的高管,在2009年独立创业。 如今,Capstone主要在东海岸筹集股权资金用于其多户住宅项目的开发。

monarch investment management group

3. Monarch Investment & Management Group

Monarch是另一家多户住宅领域的重要企业。 该公司成立于1992年,现在在20个州拥有和运营超过70,000套公寓。

据NMHC(一家行业贸易组织)称,这使得Monarch成为全国第13大多户住宅业主。

Monarch为自己的严格尽职调查流程感到自豪。 在进行任何收购之前,该公司会派遣人员到现场了解市场情况,并审查物理资产。 他们会审查所有的租赁历史记录,并仔细审查当前的运营情况。

hunt capital partners

4. Hunt Capital Partners

Hunt Capital Partners是税收信贷协作领域中的另一个大名鼎鼎的公司。

自2010年成立以来,HCP已经筹集了超过26亿美元的税收信贷股权。 这些股权随后会与私人股权配对,用于各种多户住宅投资。 总体来说,HCP的投资组合现在包含超过75,000个多户住宅单元。

除了典型的州和联邦低收入住房税收抵免(LIHTC)基金外,HCP还利用其他信贷。 其中包括太阳能税收抵免、历史税收抵免以及联邦租赁援助示范计划等。 这些基金使HCP能够投资于多户住房。 这些住房面向服务不足的人群,例如退伍军人、家庭暴力幸存者和无家可归者。

trion properties

5. Trion Properties

成立于2005年的Trion Properties是一家增值型多户投资公司。

该公司总部位于加利福尼亚州西好莱坞市,但其投资遍布南加利福尼亚、俄勒冈州、科罗拉多州和美国东南部地区。

Trion Properties的交易规模从200万美元到5000万美元不等。 该公司以令人瞩目的业绩记录为傲,平均内部收益率超过25%。

要与Trion进行投资,您必须是一位合格投资者。 符合资格的投资者可以投资他们的多户住宅机会基金III,该基金目前包括11个资产。 该基金旨在实现6-8%的现金流回报率和1.5倍至2.0倍的股本倍数。

Red Knight Properties

6. Red Knight Properties

Red Knight Properties(RKP)是一家专注于增值型多户投资的公司。

与今天在这里展示的其他公司相比。 就收入和资产管理而言,RKP明显较小。 它的重点主要是中型(50-100个单元)花园式公寓楼。 它们的主要市场在新泽西州及其周边地区。

RKP的持有期通常在12-18个月之间。 在此期间,该公司进行战略性投资,以使它们能够提高租金。

RKP的投资者通常可以预期获得10-14%的现金流回报。 根据迄今为止完成的交易,杠杆内部收益率(Levered IRR)在20-30%的范围内。 RKP向认证和非认证投资者筹集资本,最低投资额为50,000美元。

Jackson Dearborn Partners

7. Jackson Dearborn Partner

Jackson Dearborn Partners(JDP)是一家总部位于芝加哥的房地产投资和开发公司,专注于多户和学生住房。

JDP的关键差异化因素在于它专注于在机会区域进行投资。 例如,它的“ONE Chandler”项目是位于凤凰城外的一个机会区域内的中高层多户项目。

该公司目前的项目包括在科罗拉多斯普林斯市(Colorado Springs, CO)推出的一项1,830万美元的股权融资,用于一个包含234个多户单位的开发项目。 该公司估计在10年持有期内将获得约8%的优先回报,并实现19%的内部收益率(IRR)。

Presidium

8. Presidium

Presidium是一家总部位于德克萨斯州的多户住宅开发商、业主和运营商。 它拥有超过15,000个公寓单元的投资组合。 这些公寓单元的总价值超过25亿美元。

这家垂直整合的公司拥有专门从事各个领域的专业人员。 这些领域包括收购、开发、财产和资产管理法律、金融、会计、特别服务和公私合作伙伴关系。

Presidium的独特之处在于它对建设可持续、包容的社区非常关注。 例如,其可持续性努力每年可节约超过1.18亿加仑的水资源。 该公司还安装了超过3兆瓦的太阳能发电设施。 这使得它成为使用太阳能为其物业供电的领先多户住宅业主之一。

智能土地的区别

今天在这里介绍的8家公司,各有千秋,都给人留下深刻的印象。 然而,在每个案例中,这些公司都以其卓越的表现赢得了当之无愧的地位,成为顶级的多户住宅投资公司之一。 在Smartland,我们非常尊重所有这些平台。

话虽如此,如果不提Smartland,我们就有失公正了——Smartland是另一家领先的多户住宅投资公司。 在Smartland,我们聚集资本,投资于中西部和东南部的增值多户住宅项目。

拥有多户家庭房地产,虽然有可能带来丰厚的利润,但也需要敏锐的监督和管理。

我们的一个关键不同点是团队对价值的不懈追求。 我们不断寻找新的方法,从我们的房地产中提取更多的价值。 例如,我们采用了一个强大的技术方案,使我们能够提高租金。 更高的收入转化为投资者更高的回报。

Smartland的平台可能与今天展示的一些巨头相比“新”或“小”。 但是我们正在取得重要的进展。 我们现在管理着1000多个单元——这些是我们打算长期持有的物业。

结论

投资多户住宅房地产是一种越来越受欢迎的赚取被动收入的方式。 然而,无论你想投资10,000美元还是1百万美元,弄清如何入门都可能有些棘手。 有无数的多户住宅投资公司在全国运营。 每个都希望开创自己的领域。

这对于投资者来说很重要,他们应该和具有相同目标、投资标准和投资期限的多户投资发起人合作。 今天展示的所有公司,包括Smartland在内,都值得那些想开始投资的人认真考虑。

对于想了解更多Smartland平台信息的人,今天就联系我们吧!


最后编辑于 8月 21, 2023
本文是否有帮助?
reaction thumbnail

View More
Resources

Education, Investment Advice, Market Trends

Top 8 Multifamily Investment
Companies for Passive Investors

top-8-multifamily-investment-companies-for-passive-investors.mp3 There are countless multifamily investment companies throughout the country. Each is looking to carve out its own niche. It’s important Listen to this article

Introduction

In recent months, the stock market has been especially volatile and has some investors on edge. Those looking for more stable, reliable returns are starting to look closely at multifamily. Multifamily real estate, which can range from two-unit buildings to 500+ apartment complexes, has historically performed well even amid period of economic uncertainty.

Most individuals cannot afford to buy an apartment building on their own. And those who can may not want to. Owning multifamily real estate, while potentially lucrative, also requires keen oversight and management.

An alternative is to passively invest alongside an adept multifamily sponsor. In this article, we profile some of the top multifamily investment companies operating today.

What is a Real Estate Investment Company?

A real estate investment company is one that acquires, develops, and/or manages a commercial property on behalf of its investors. Most real estate investment companies specialize in a certain product type. The companies featured here today generally specialize in owning and operating multifamily buildings.

A real estate investment company is one
that acquires, develops, and/or manages commercial property
on behalf of their investors.

Some real estate investment companies are more hands-on than others. For example, a vertically-integrated firm will oversee most functions in-house. This can include construction and leasing, as well as legal, property, and asset management services. Smaller real estate investment firms may need to rely on third-party support, which may limit their control over certain processes.

The Role of a Sponsor in Multifamily Development

The sponsor should be thought of as the “quarterback” to any multifamily real estate investment deal. They take the lead on due diligence, property acquisition, underwriting, financing, development and/or renovations, and eventually property lease-up and stabilization. The sponsor develops the business plan for a property and then, utilizing limited partner equity, execute that plan on behalf of investors.

The importance of the sponsor should not be overlooked. Two real estate investment companies could look at the same property and come to drastically different conclusions about its value. They could have different opinions about how to generate the highest returns. They could have different experience or abilities that makes them more or less capable of executing their plans.

The sponsor’s historical performance is generally
a good indicator of future performance.

Before investing in any multifamily deal, investors will want to conduct their own due diligence on the sponsor behind that opportunity. If a deal seems too good to be true, look at the sponsor’s track record. The sponsor’s historical performance is generally a good indicator of future performance.

The Top 8 Multifamily Investment Companies of 2022

Below we look at some of today’s top-performing multifamily sponsors. They range in size, geography, and years of experience. Despite these differences, these companies are all established leaders in the multifamily marketplace.

alliant capital

1. Alliant Capital

Alliant Capital is one of the largest multifamily investment companies in the United States. Its focus is primarily on tax credit syndication for the development and financing of affordable multifamily rental housing.

Since the company’s inception roughly 20 years ago, Alliant has raised more than $8 billion in equity which has allowed them to do more than 1,000 tax credit investment deals. Alliant’s portfolio now contains more than 100,000 multifamily units. In late 2021, Alliant Capital was acquired by capital broker Walker & Dunlop, which will give more horsepower to Alliant as it looks to grow its platform.

capstone development

2. Capstone Development

Capstone Development is a minority-owned real estate investment firm that specializes in both multifamily and hospitality assets.

The founder, Norman Jenkins, is a former Marriott Hotel executive who branched out on his own in 2009 to start Capstone Development. Today, Capstone raises equity for its multifamily developments located primarily on the East Coast.

monarch investment management group

3. Monarch Investment & Management Group

Monarch is another multifamily heavy hitter. Founded in 1992, the company now owns and operates more than 70,000 apartments across 20 states.

This makes Monarch the 13th largest multifamily owner in the country, according to NMHC, an industry trade organization.

Monarch prides itself on its robust due diligence process. Prior to any acquisition, the company puts boots on the ground to learn the market and review the physical asset. They review all leasing history and scrutinize current operations.

hunt capital partners

4. Hunt Capital Partners

Hunt Capital Partners is another big name in the tax credit syndication world.

Since its inception in 2010, HCP has raised more than $2.6 billion in tax credit equity that is then paired with private equity to be utilized in a range of multifamily investments. In total, the HCP portfolio now contains more than 75,000 multifamily units.

In addition to typical state and federal Low Income Housing Tax Credits (LIHTC) funds, HCP also leverages solar tax credits, historic tax credits, and the federal Rental Assistance Demonstration program. These funds have enabled HCP to invest in multifamily housing for underserved populations, such as veterans, domestic abuse survivors, and the homeless.

trion properties

5. Trion Properties

Founded in 2005, Trion Properties is a value-add multifamily investment company.

The firm is based in West Hollywood, CA but has investments located throughout Southern California, Oregon, Colorado and the Southeast U.S.

Trion Properties’ deals range in size from $2 million to $50 million. The company boasts an impressive track record with average IRR exceeding 25%.

To invest with Trion, you must be an accredited investor. Those who qualify can then invest in their Multifamily Opportunity Fund III which currently includes 11 assets. The fund looks to achieve a 6-8% cash-on-cash yield with a 1.5x to 2.0x equity multiple.

Red Knight Properties

6. Red Knight Properties

Red Knight Properties (RKP) is a value-add multifamily investment firm.

Compared to some of the other companies featured here today, RKP is significantly smaller in terms of revenue and assets under management. Its focus is primarily on mid-sized (50-100 unit) garden-style apartment buildings. Their key markets are in and around New Jersey.

RKP hold periods tend to be between 12-18 months. During this time, the company makes strategic investments that allow them to increase rents. RKP investors can generally expect to earn 10-14% cash-on-cash returns with levered IRR in the range of 20-30% based on deals completed to date. RKP raises capital from accredited and non-accredited investors alike, with a minimum $50,000 investment.

Jackson Dearborn Partners

7. Jackson Dearborn Partner

Jackson Dearborn Partners (JDP) is a Chicago-based real estate investment and development company focused on multifamily and student housing.

JDP’s key differentiator is that it focuses on investments in Opportunity Zones. For example, it’s “ONE Chandler” development is a mid-rise multifamily project located in an OZ just outside of Phoenix.

The company’s current offerings include an $18.3m equity raise for a 234-unit multifamily development in Colorado Springs, CO. The company estimates generating a preferred return of approximately 8% with a 19% IRR over a 10-year hold period.

Presidium

8. Presidium

Presidium is a Texas-based multifamily developer, owner and operator with a portfolio of more than 15,000 apartment units that in total, are worth more than $2.5 billion.

The vertically-integrated firm has professionals that specialize in acquisitions, development, property and asset management law, finance, accounting, special servicing, and public-private partnerships.

What makes Presidium stand out is its keen attention to building sustainable, inclusive communities. For example, its sustainability efforts have saved more than 118 million gallons of water per year. The company has also installed more than 3 megawatts of solar, making it one of the leading multifamily sponsors using solar to power its properties.

The Smartland Difference

The 8 companies featured here today are all impressive for different reasons. In each case, though, the company has earned itself a well-deserved spot as one of the top multifamily investment companies. At Smartland, we have tremendous respect for all of these platforms.

That said, we’d be remiss not to mention Smartland – another leading multifamily investment company. At Smartland, we aggregate capital to invest in value-add multifamily investments in the Mid-West and Southeast U.S.

Owning multifamily real estate,
while potentially lucrative, also requires
keen oversight and management.

One of our key differentiators is the team’s relentless pursuit of value. We are constantly finding new ways to extract more value out of our properties. For instance, we’ve adopted a robust technology package that allows us to drive rents. More revenue translates into higher returns for our investors.

Smartland’s platform may be “new” or “small” compared to some of the titans featured here today. But we’re making important headway. We now have more than 1,000 units under management—properties that we intend to hold long-term.

Conclusion

Investing in multifamily real estate is an increasingly popular way to earn passive income. However, whether you’re looking to invest $10,000 or $1 million, figuring out how to get started can be tricky. There are countless multifamily investment companies operating throughout the country. Each is looking to carve out its own niche.

It’s important for investors to invest with a multifamily sponsor who has the same goals, investment criteria and time horizon. All of the companies featured here today, Smartland included, are worth a hard look for anyone looking to begin investing.

Interested in learning more about the Smartland platform? Contact us today!


Was this article helpful?
reaction thumbnail No

View More
Resources